You will believe a nerd can type

September 11, 2009 at 9:28 AM | Posted in Movie Rants | Leave a comment

Finally finished the Superman blah blah boxed set. Well okay, I didn’t listen to the music-only track because I’ve heard the soundtrack. I didn’t listen to the addition music cues, same thing. I didn’t watch the Bugs Bunny cartoons or Superpup or the 50th anniversary or the Mythology of Superman, but those all suck. I didn’t watch the Christopher Reeve tribute because it’s depressing. He was in a trilogy of cable westerns, but nobody ever talks about it. I only know because I worked at Blockbuster for two months. The Mythology of Superman really isn’t about Superman, it’s about the mythology that either inspired or is similar to Superman. They should have included The Science of Superman TV special. That’s amazing. They talk about gravitons and solar energy and how his powers could work and be possible and compare him to bugs. Mythology, yawn.

Overall I’m a little disappointed there’s so much about the movies I don’t know. Like how the hell they did the credits. Now it’s all computers, but I want to know how they did it originally. I still want to see the 134 minute original cut of Superman IV, for better or worse. There are supposedly still scenes shown in TV versions of Superman II and Superman III not included here. Why? Why the inexplicable clip of Non throwing a police light at a kid on a horse in one of the documentaries? And, apply application analogy here, there’s no commentary on Superman Returns. Okay, yes, everybody involved was probably busier than the writer of Superman IV, but it literally takes two hours to record. Put forth a little effort. Also, apologize for the movie being awful.

Incidentally, for the first time in my life, I want a Blu-Ray player. I know it has a stupid name and is overpriced and I don’t have a high def or even a particularly good TV. But the various misty, foggy or underwater scenes on all these DVDs show really insidious MPEG-2 compression artifacts, and it’s unacceptable. I’ve never noticed this before. I’ve often championed how good DVDs look. But I guess I was wrong. They don’t always, but can often, look as bad as satellite TV broadcasts. I definately don’t want to rebuy all my DVDs, but I also don’t want to watch Superman drowning in a sea of big digital squares and rectangles. There’s fucking rectangles near Marlon Brando’s head! You don’t put fucking rectangles near Marlon Brando’s head, motherfucker!

Anyway, I think I can fly, so I’m going to go jump off the roof. I’m kidding. I’m going to jump off a cliff. Much easier. Yes, there is one nearby.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

